Dreamers Passing

So Ray Bradbury is gone now too. Another dreamer gone to the Big Sleep. Along with Leo Dillon only a few days earlier, and Maurice Sendak not long before.

The Halloween Tree illustrated by Leo & Diane Dillon

By now news of Bradbury’s passing has saturated the internet, and I doubt that I have much to add but the personal note that The Halloween Tree was a roadmark of my childhood, as I am sure it has been for many others, and hearing it read aloud (along with Lewis and Tolkien) by my fourth grade teacher unlocked new, undiscovered rooms in my imagination–as did Sendak’s Wild Things even earlier in my childhood–and who is going to illuminate the night with forbidden hopes and cherished fears and uncharted stars as they did?

Sendak's Wild Things

Leave a Reply

